L-MOUNT Forum

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

An appeal to Panasonic regarding MTF data

robin0112358

Though I am not an optics expert, I am able to read MTF charts to a reasonable degree, having been trained on the material Zeiss has published on this subject. Complete and accurate MTF charts can tell us a lot about a lens. Not everything, obviously, but nonetheless a good deal about macro contrast, micro contrast, acutance, and even field curvature.

This is an appeal to Panasonic to improve their reporting in this area.

Currently your lens specifications include a single MTF chart with spatial frequency curves at 10 and 30 lp/mm for both sagittal and meridional directions. From the first curve we can get an idea of (macro) contrast and from the second something like sharpness. But I would prefer a 40 lp/mm curve. Because the 30 curve will look "too good" by comparison to a measure at 40 (which corresponds to finer detail).

Please follow Zeiss by providing graphs at 10, 20, and 40 lp/mm. Then all obscurity of language can be put aside and we can make a proper evaluation of objective data.

The other problem is that you publish only a single chart for each prime, measured wide open. This is actually counter-productive for marketing, since most lenses will improve dramatically when stopped down. Please add a chart for the lens at an optimal aperture. Or perhaps several charts... your engineers already have this data.

Finally, I would like an assurance that the data is derived from measured samples of the actual lenses. And not from some idealised optical software accessed during the design process.